Faculty

Jay Buckley

Associate Professor, History

American West/American Indians

jay_buckley@byu.edu

2141 JFSB

801-422-5327

Brian Cannon

Director, Charles Redd Center for Western Studies, History

Modern/Rural America

brian_cannon@byu.edu

2119 JFSB

801-422-5211

 

Allen Christenson

Associate Professor, Comparative Arts & Letters

Pre-Columbian Mesoamerican Art, Literature, Linguistics, Theology, Gilded Age to Early Modernism in Europe and America, Victorian British Art

allen_christenson@byu.edu

3008 JFSB

801-422-5848

 

Frank Christianson

Professor, Associate Dean, College of Humanities, English

American and British Literature

frank_christianson@byu.edu

4002 JFSB

801-422-5289

Gregory Clark

Professor, English

American Cultural Studies from Rhetorical Perspective

gregory_clark@byu.edu

4164 JFSB

801-422-3581

 

Rachel Cope

Associate Professor, Church History

Women’s History, Religious History in Antebellum America

rachel_cope@byu.edu

210A JSB

801-422-3367

Dennis Cutchins

Professor, English

Adaptation Theory and Film, Western Literature, Native American Literature

dennis_cutchins@byu.edu

4167 JFSB

801-422-9042

 

Edward Cutler

Associate Professor, English

Late 19C/Early 20C American Literature

ed_cutler@byu.edu

4031 JFSB

801-422-4292 

Richard Davis

Professor, Political Science

U.S. Justice System, Political Parties, Political Journalism

richard_davis@byu.edu

745 SWKT

801-422-7503

 

Rebecca DeSchweinitz

Associate Professor, History

History of Childhood and Youth, African American History, U.S. Women and Gender History

rld@byu.edu

2127 JFSB

801-422-1594

 

Eric Eliason

Professor, English

eric_eliason@byu.edu

4173 JFSB

801-422-9079

 

Emron Esplin

Associate Professor, English

19th/20th Century U.S. Literature, Inter-American Literary Studies, Greater Mexico, Poe & Spanish America, Jorge Luis Borges

emronesplin@gmail.com

4148 JFSB

801-422-9077

 

Marlene Hansen Esplin

Assistant Professor, Comparative Arts & Letters

mhesplin@byu.edu

3050 JFSB

801-422-6246

 

Mary Eyring

Assistant Professor, English

Transatlantic Seaport and Print Culture, Disability Theory, 18C/19C Cultural Productions of American Women

mary_eyring@byu.edu

4131 JFSB

801-422-5471

 

George Handley

Professor, Comparative Arts & Letters

Literatures of the Americas, Ecocriticism, and Ecotheology

george_handley@byu.edu

4002 JFSB

801-422-7151

 

Kenneth Hartvigsen

Curator, BYU Museum of Art

American Art

kenneth_hartvigsen@byu.edu

476 MOA

801-422-5176

 

Trent Hickman

Associate Professor, English

20C American Literature, Latino Literature

trenton_hickman@byu.edu

4105 JFSB

801-422-1715

 

Christopher Jones

Assistant Professor, History

Early American Religious Studies

ccjones@byu.edu

2109 JFSB

801-422-1838

Richard Kimball

Associate Professor, History

US Social and Cultural History, History of Athletics

richard_kimball@byu.edu

2139 JFSB

801-422-9277

 

Kristin Matthews

Associate Professor, English

20C American Literature, Cold War Studies, African American Literature, American Studies

kristin_matthews@byu.edu

4160 JFSB

801-422-5295

 

Cameron McCoy

Assistant Professor, History

US History and Africana Studies

cameron_mccoy@byu.edu

2147 JFSB

801-422-6301

 

 

Dennis Perry

Associate Professor, English

19C Literature, Film

dennis_perry@byu.edu

4171 JFSB

801-422-1717

 

Brian Price

Associate Professor, Spanish & Portuguese

brian_price@byu.edu

3158 JFSB

801-422-3453

 

Jenny Pulsipher

Associate Professor, History

U.S. Colonial, Native American, Atlantic World

jenny_pulsipher@byu.edu

2142 JFSB

801-422-3268

 

Brenden Rensink

Assistant Research Professor, History; Assistant Director, Charles Redd Center for Western Studies

North American West, Borderlands, Indigenous History, Genocide Studies

bwrensink@byu.edu

954 SWKT

801-422-9181

 

Brian Roberts

Associate Professor, English; Director, American Studies Program

American Studies, African American and black diasporan literature and culture, modernism/modernity, archipelagic studies, literature and diplomacy

brianrussellroberts@byu.edu

4152 JFSB

801-422-1376

 

Jamin Rowan

Associate Professor, English

Late 19C/Early 20C American Literature, Urban Studies, American Studies

jamin_rowan@byu.edu

4143 JFSB

801-422-8968

 

Jill Rudy

Associate Professor, English

Folklore, Fairy Tale Studies, Rhetoric and Composition, Digital Humanities, Public Humanities

jill_rudy@byu.edu

4157 JFSB

801-422-2869

 

 

Carl Sederholm

Professor, Humanities, Classics and Comparative Literature

American Horror Literature and Film, Adaptation Theory, Edgar Allan Poe, Shirley Jackson, Heavy Metal Music and Literary Adaptation.

csederholm@byu.edu

3043 JFSB

801-422-9078

 

Phil Snyder

Associate Professor, English

20C and Contemporary Literature, Studies in Autobiography, Western Studies

phillip_snyder@byu.edu

4179 JFSB

801-422-2487

 

 

Kerry Soper

Professor, Comparative Arts & Letters

Comic Strips, Comedy, Satire, American Art History, Popular FIlm

kerry_soper@byu.edu

3032 JFSB

801-422-1242

 

James Swensen

Assistant Professor, Comparative Arts & Letters

Art and Photography of the American West, 19C/20C Great American Surveys

james_swensen@byu.edu

3054 JFSB

801-422-2206

 


 

Mike Taylor

Assistant Professor, English

Indigenous Studies, American Studies, pre-WWII American Literature

mike_taylor@byu.edu

4153 JFSB

801-422-2481

 

 

Grant Underwood

Professor, History

Mormons, U.S. Religion

grant_underwood@byu.edu

2163 JFSB

801-422-7522

 

 

Carol Ward

Associate Professor, Sociology

Race and Ethnic Relations, Education, Stratification, Rural/Urban Communities, Veterans’ Health Care

carol_ward@byu.edu

2038 JFSB

801-422-3047